November 24, 2008

OpenStreetMap Code Swarm!

Posted in OSM Contributions tagged at 4:14 am by fadinlight

20081123_code_swarm1

Relevant links:

This is my little surprise to all OSM devs! :)

After three days of try and error with the great Michael Ogawa’s code swarm, mencoder, subtitle editor, audacity and following some guides like this one, after 7 hours of frames rendering and countless hours of video compressing… here it is!

Unfortunately I’m not so into OSM history to insert sensible subtitles about “commit bursts” and I’m not sure about all the dates of API changes… if you want to help please contact me or comment!

How you can help:

  • Tell me about relevant OSM dates that explains commit bursts
  • Every circle represent a file, and all files in the SVN corresponding to some regex can be coloured differently (so we can, for example, have different colors for osmarender commits, tiles@home, core API, etc…; or, if wanted, different colors for ruby sources, js, html, etc..). I’m going to produce them for future videos, but obviously Regexs are appreciated :)
  • I’m a real newbie on video compressing, so you can give me mencoder strings to encode the video in different or more attractive codec/quality. Consider that code_swarm outputs all frames in png, then I use raw output to merge them, insert the logo, insert the subtitles. After that I compress the raw file (here your help is needed!!!) and then I merge the file with the background music.

Background music is taken from “First Flight” by SkinMechanix (CC-by-SA license)

My videos are also released as CC-by-SA.

If you want to learn more about what code swarm is, then check out Michael Ogawa code swarm’s home page

Enjoy!

6 Comments »

  1. deelkar said,

    Very nice video.

    One more date: April 07: Essen dev meet. But that’s only a minor event in the video

  2. Very cool vid, I saw my name come in, float to the centre, then disappear straight away. I really should get involved in the coding side of things again some time ;-)

  3. nickb said,

    This is very, very nice. What about uploading to YouTube or some other sharing site?

  4. dieterdreist said,

    compliments, Mario. That’s a very cool visualisation. I also encourage you to upload it on You-Tube (and link from OSM-Wiki).

  5. DeeJay1 said,

    Hmm, is the code_swarm config somewhere in svn? So we could all add relevant regexps without the mailing hassle ;)

  6. fadinlight said,

    Thank you all for your comments, sorry for replying late :)

    @deelkar
    Probably it’s too much close to API 0.4, will try to add the Essen dev meet as soon as I’ve found a way to change font size ^__^

    @John McKerrell
    Hope you’ll do.. and I’ll do! :) That’s one of the reasons why I’ve made that video :)

    @nickb,dieterdreist
    I really wanted to produce another video with some fixes before uploading it, but it’s too much easy to loose time this way… so in the meantime here it is :)

    @DeeJay1
    Uploaded! Regexps are to be inserted in “Color assignment rules” section. The config file is very easy to tweak

    http://svn.openstreetmap.org/misc/videos/code_swarm/sample.config

    ASAP I’ll upload in the svn all the shell scripts and files I’ve made to produce the video


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

