May 1, 2008

Mapping Sardinian SS131

Posted in OSM Contributions tagged , at 10:00 pm by fadinlight

(This post has been published after the original date, due to connection issues)

As I’ve said yesterday, I went to Sardinia to meet my girlfriend Claudia, for a week holiday after the last difficult month, in which I’ve passed two exams and… obviously, acceptend in this fantastic adventure called Google Summer of Code… and this fantastic community called OpenStreetMap!

However, I arrived to Olbia but my girlfriend lives in Cagliari (in the opposite side of Sardinia). Olbia and Cagliari are connected by a long primary road, called SS131 and SS131bis. I’ve seen in the last days that this way is not yet fully mapped… so a GPS trace during this 270 km travel has been an obvious choice!

In the above picture, you can see what’s already mapped in Sardinia, and, in green, my GPS trace, as seen in JOSM. The central part is not already mapped… so… mapping the remaining it’s a good thing to do in the next days!

Leave a Reply

