July 30, 2008

The bus factor

Posted in GSoC tagged , , , , at 12:05 am by fadinlight

(This post has been published after the original date)

After talking with Frederik, also regarding what’s happened during the last days (and what’s happening now, and what will happen), we decided to change the scope of the project, aiming at a full refactoring and documenting of all that I’ve done. This has been chosen to reduce Osmarender frontend’s “bus factor” (in my case, the “sheep factor” ™! ๐Ÿ™‚ ). I’m agree on doing this, also because, to have a proper handling of the rule section (as it is very complicated), IMO a better data model is needed.

What’s Osmarender Frontend now

Now Osmarender Frontend is split into two JavaScript files: cmyk.js and osmarender_frontend.js. cmyk.js file is the osmarender’s rule handling library, while osmarender_frontend.js is the gui (sometimes they’re not really separate, to be honest). As I was a very newbie on using Dojo when I’ve started the project, I wasn’t using any Dojo feature at all. At the end, I was very reluctant on using it. Then, after I’ve done a total revision of the GUI, I’ve started to know Dojo better, and I see it would be a proper choice to use its features, beside for the GUI, also for the CMYK (“Customize Maps: Your Key”, or “Cmyk Maps Your Kingdom”) rules handling library itself, using only Dojo core features. Better, using Dojo’s scopeMap feature, I can distribute a fixed version of dojo with the library that doesn’t break anything if, sometimes in the future, another dojo version will be used when calling the library.

What Osmarender Frontend will be

Why Dojo is so attractive? Here I need to speak frankly: I don’t want to reinvent the wheel. If dojo can take care of browser quirks, class declaring/handling, package structuring (the thing I was missing the most!), i18n, querying the DOM, dynamic loading of panels, etc… well, why shouldn’t I use it? ๐Ÿ™‚

Beyond that, as Frederik asked, I’m going to start documenting the code, so I need to use JSDoc Toolkit. Furthermore, even if not really asked for, I want, at least, to refactor the library while using an unit test framework like JSUnit.

So, next steps:

  • Learn how to use Dojo packaging features
  • Learn JSDoc Toolkit
  • Learn how to use JSDoc Toolkit with Dojo
  • Start doing some documentation to test my knowledge of JSDoc Toolkit
  • Learn JSUnit
  • Learn how to use JSUnit
  • Start doing some unit testing to test my knowledge ofย  JSUnit
  • Start code refactoring

In the meantime, Simone Cortesi is coming to my summer house here in Montesilvano on August 4, while doing his sort of “Summer Italian OSM Tour“, to get in touch with the community all over Italy!

3 Comments »

  1. […] said in my last post, Simone Cortesi came here in Montesilvano for two days. Simone thought to try to map a very little […]

  2. […] said before, I was going to use JSUnit for unit testing while refactoring CMYK library’s code. After […]

  3. I do agree with all of the concepts you’ve introduced for your
    post. They’re really convincing and can definitely work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are too short for beginners. May you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time?
    Thank you for the post.


Leave a Reply

