August 6, 2008

Refactoring, refactoring… Documenting, documenting…

Posted in GSoC tagged , , at 4:12 pm by fadinlight

(This post has been published after the original date)

During the last week, I’ve managed to learn and beginning to use Dojo packaging features. So I’ve started splitting my cmyk.js file into model and controller chunks, exporting all functions that refers to models into different Dojo class files. After some little issues with relative paths, and after learning how variable and function scope works in Dojo classes, now it works!

I was starting to get worried, because JSDoc Toolkit seemed not to work in my PC at all, founding no suitable solution in the Net. Even switching from open-jdk to sun-jdk didn’t help. But, even in an unlucky period like this, sometimes a little bit of luck comes out… yesterday JSDoc Toolkit version 2.0.2 has been released… and all begun to work very very smoothly!

I’ve had some issues to let JSDoc Toolkit document properly Dojo classes, but, in the end, I’ve managed to let it work, even if it documents some functions as statics even if they’re not, and even if I needed to create some .js mock files just to document the various namespaces of the packages. Probably there could be a way to do all better, but I think I’ve to defer this research. 🙂

2 Comments »

  1. Linh said,

    Hello. Our application pretty much is relying on the Dojo Toolkit. I’m pretty much trying to learn how to generate an api using jsdoc toolkit by learning how to generate the Dojo API using jsdoc toolkit. Do you have instructions that would help in either effort? I know the Dojo Team uses PHP and Drupal to generate their API.

  2. fadinlight said,

    Actually I didn’t use the same methods Dojo guys use for their API, just some homemade tricks 🙂 I’m sending you a mail with some other details.


Leave a Reply

